Crowd Sourcing Sermon for July 19

“I want to make a confession, to give an accounting to myself, and to God.  In other words, to measure my life and actions against the lofty ideals I’ve set for myself.  To compare that which should have been with that which was… ” – Hana Senesh (1921-1944), diary entry of October 11, 1940

From Mishkan HaNefesh, the new High Holy Day Prayer Book (Rosh Hashanah pg. 118)
Discussion Question:
How do we measure success?  Do we compare ourselves to others to often in our overly competitive society?  Is there a time in your life when you felt that you didn’t measure up to others expectation or your own?  Tell us about a time in your life when you were proud of an accomplishment.

4 Responses to Crowd Sourcing Sermon for July 19

  1. Ilana Hessing and Steve Ginsburg’s comment:
    Steve: Success for me means the overcoming of many obstacles to get something that you want. For me, getting licensed as a professional counselor was an important achievement.

    Ilana: for me, success means I’ve been able to help someone. In the business world I feel good when I am able to give someone helpful advice. I enjoy being known as someone who gives good counsel.

  2. David Spear says:

    For me, success is accepting what I am, and what I have been, and whatever I will be. As long as I am finite, I will make “mistakes”. May I be as tolerant and unjudging of my mistakes as I am of other peoples mistakes.

  3. docbzf says:

    How do we measure success ?

    Being a Jew , I answer this question with another question ; What kind of success : material or ethical ?

    I have formulated my ( current ) idea of the ” Nature of Human Nature ” from Rabbi Joseph Soloveitchik’s book ” The lonely Man of Faith ” ( 1965 ) . Rabbi S interprets the dual drives of the human being as first described in Genesis 1 ( balanced / contrasted with Genesis 2 ) .

    The goal of Adam 1 of Genesis 1 is to conquer the world .
    The goal of Adam 2 of Genesis 2 is to conquer oneself .

    The Jewish author David Brooks described these values as Resume Virtues vs. Eulogy Virtues .
    Both are important , but they may conflict with each other .

    For myself , my greatest Resume Virtue was learning all the new medical imaging technologies that evolved over my 40-year professional career as a radiologist .

    Regarding my Eulogy Virtues , being consistently lovingly patient and kind to my wife and 3 children has been my greatest challenge .
    I now know with deep emotion that my wife and children are MINE , but THEY ARE NOT ME . We each have our own
    quirks , proclivities and skills .
    I feel that the prime emotinal/ ethical value is COMPASSION/
    / LOVE , and the highest inter-personal behavior is KINDNESS / HELPFULNESS .

    I embrace the teaching in Pirkei Avot :
    Who is wise ?
    One who learns from everyone .

    Who is strong ?
    One who has self-control .

    _ _ _ _ _ _

  4. Bob Bierman says:

    The brilliant philosopher Charlie Schulz reported that Linus said once: “There is no greater burden than a great potential”. Words to live by.

Leave a Reply

