Crowdsourcing Sermons

Crowdsourcing Sermon

August 22 Sermon

For this summer’s sermons, we’d like to incorporate your perspectives. The clergy will pose a question at the beginning of each week. Your responses to the question will help inform the sermon for that week.

Please respond to the August 22 sermon topic: “Have you ever carried around a grudge or a feeling that did not allow you to move forward completely?  Have you ever let go of such a feeling?”

6 Responses to Crowdsourcing Sermons

  1. Lyn Linker says:

    I have 3 thoughts about this topic(yes, there are people who have hurt me in ways that I will never forgive or forget. No, I will not share the circumstances on this site).

    1, Shortly after 9/11 I saw Senator John McCain on a news talk show. He was asked if, as a Christian, he could forgive the hijackers. He was quiet for about 10 or 15 seconds-an eternity on live television. He said(and this is not an exact quote) G-d could forgive the hijackers if He wanted to but he(the Senator) could never forgive them.

    2. I read a book of stories, sermons, poems, etc for Yom Kippur(sorry, I forget the title). One of the sermons was by a Rabbi who said there are some crimes so horrendous-rape, child and spouse abuse, murder, etc-that people do not have to forgive, even if forgiveness is requested by the perpetrator. Only G-d can forgive the person who has committed such a horrible act.

    3. On Monday afternoon the Philadelphia Inquirer website had an article that the Philadelphia Police have ruled the death of congregant Lee Stanley a homicide. From the description on the website Lee suffered a horrible death, in the house he grew up in. Could anyone who knew Lee and read the description of his death really forgive his murderers?

    Some feelings must be held on to. To “let them go” and/or forgive the one(s) who wronged you will only let yourself be victimized again.

  2. docbzf says:

    Well thought out , Lyn

  3. Carmen McLeod says:

    After a long and arduous divorce, I was so frustrated and angry that I could feel my blood pressure rise every time the father of my children came to pick them up. My mother asked, “Can you for give him?” I responded, “Never!” Then, she said, “Well, let G-d take care of him . You concentrate on loving and raising your children.” And, that’s what I did. I am very proud of both of them.

  4. docbzf says:

    Yes , for a few years I was very angry at a certain relative
    ( regarding an inheritance ) .
    Finally I made a very conscious , rational decision to let go of my anger . I did not like the toxic effect of anger on my psyche . Such anger limited my sense of gratitude .
    I did not forget ; I did not forgive ; but I did let go .

    My relative’s negative emotion was greed .
    I understand greed and jealousy , but I cannot understand willful bodily harm to others .
    I agree with everyone who will always bear a grudge ( that is , remain angry ) at murderers such as Hitler , Stalin , and the killer(s) of Lee Stanley .

    • Lyn Linker says:

      Dear Ben-Zion,

      Perhaps I did not make myself clear in my original comment. I am not angry at the people who have hurt me. To stay angry would give them power over me.

      But as I stated, to forgive and forget is equally wrong. To forgive opens yourself open to the possibility of being victimized again. As far as forgetting, I don’t remember the exact quote but I am sure you have heard the expression that those who forget history are doomed to repeat it.

  5. docbzf says:

    There is little if any benefit to holding a grudge : to have as a very negative mindset :
    ” I’m a victim . . always a victim ”
    or
    “Poor little me , poor little me “

Leave a Reply

