Crowdsourcing Sermon

Crowdsourcing August 8 Sermon

For this summer’s sermons, we’d like to incorporate your perspectives. The clergy will pose a question at the beginning of each week. Your responses to the question will help inform the sermon for that week.

Please respond to the August 1 sermon topic: “Besides your physical house/apartment/condo, where and when do you feel at home?  What is it about these other places/times that elicit feelings of comfort, safety and family?”

4 Responses to Crowdsourcing Sermon

  1. docbzf says:

    HAIMISH
    ” at home ” becomes “Haimish” in Yiddish .
    My most haimish experiences have been right here at Rodeph Shalom . . . at all gatherings , but especially at Erev Shabbat Services .
    Friday evening I have the freedom to go anywhere, because Freedom is the religion of America . I choose to participate in what I affectionately call our “Sing-Along and Poetry Reading ” . Why do I participate ? Doing so enriches my soul .
    Our clergy , being ScholaRS , have created a service for SeekeRS like myself .
    I seek Acceptance , and find it in the warm smiles and friendly words of the greeters ;
    I seek Beauty , and find it in the majestic sanctuary architecture ;
    I seek Community , and find it as we sing and chant and read together ;
    I seek Transcendence , and find it in the magic of Cantor Erin’s music ;
    I seek Learning , and find it in the wisdom of the D’var Torah ;
    I seek Introspection , and find it in moments of silent meditation ;
    I seek Remembrance , and find it in the Mourners’ Kaddish .

    ” Two Jews , three opinions ” . But on Friday evenings at Rodeph Shalom , we are all on the same page . . . and that page is in our Siddur .
    Of the 168 hours in every week , Kabbalat Shabbat has become my Peak of the Week .

    .

  2. joannegotto says:

    I feel at home singing sacred music whether in choir or while sitting in the congregation. I feel at home participating in a dance class with like-minded individuals.

  3. Bob says:

    For me, my journey to a place where I feel at home is a journey of the mind. It doesn’t take much to be back in The Bronx in the early 50s, a place filled with friends, innocence, and the pleasure of an endless summer of playing stickball in the street, a long day of the air cooled movie theater (20 degrees cooler inside the sign said) with two feature films, cartoons, the movietone news, and oh yeah, a weekly serial. The still warm evenings hanging around the candy store, and finally heading home when it got too dark to stay outside. It’s said that we can’t go home again, but sometimes, if we are lucky, we can.

Leave a Reply

